Notts Building Towards Season Start

Notts County won their second friendly match of the summer on Saturday, this time against Alfreton Town as the Magpies work crucially towards the season start of their National League campaign next month.

County won 2-1 at the Impact Arena with Wes Thomas and Kyle Wootton scoring as the Black and Whites Manager Neal Ardley said after the match “getting minutes in the legs was certainly the case at the moment especially for those lads who have had four or five months off and didn’t feature in the playoffs.”

“First half we got lots wrong and played in their hands a bit, the second half team and performance learned from the first half which was good because you don’t want to turn up and everything goes swimmingly and don’t learn anything. We learned things about having the right to play, showing teams we’ve got pace and power in attack and we can stretch them rather than playing football all the time through the third. We’ve got to mix the game up at times and did that better in the second half”.

Ardley would have been pleased that both his strikers scored as Wes Thomas poached home in the first half before Wootton slotted home a penalty in between an Alfreton leveller with the step five team running out winners against opposition from the league below underneath the sunny Derbyshire skies.

Notts next face Telford on Saturday before concluding their friendlies at York the week after. The Magpies then travel to Dover in their first National League match of the campaign on Saturday 3rd October.

County were supposed to face Harrogate Town in the semi-finals of the FA Trophy on 17th September but that match has now been put back to Tuesday 22nd September with the Non-League Finals day put back to later in the year after it was postponed indefinitely.

Good news though for fans wanting to buy the shirts of their stars. The squad numbers for the new season have been announced and are as follows: 1 Sam Slocombe, 2 Richard Brindley, 3 Sam Graham, 4 Jake Reeves, 5 Ben Turner, 6 Jim O’Brien, 7 Wes Thomas, 8 Michael Doyle, 9 Kyle Wootton, 10 Cal Roberts, 11 Enzio Boldewijn, 13 Connell Rawlinson, 14 Damien McCrory, 16 Dion Kelly-Evans, 17 Casper Sloth, 18 Jimmy Knowles, 19 Elisha Sam, 20 Ruben Rodrigues, 22 Tiernan Brooks, 23 Adam Chicksen, 24 Alex Lacey, 25 Luke Pilling, 30 Jake Kean.

*Main image @Official_NCFC the Notts players celebrate a goal during the win at Alfreton.

Leave a Reply