Watch Notts CCC Live

Nottinghamshire County Cricket Club start their County Championship season today as they face Durham at Trent Bridge in their opening group one game of the LV= Insurance sponsored competition.

Steven Mullaney will captain a team that will initially play ten red ball games within Group One of three groups of six including all 18 counties where the sides with the best records at the end will play off for a chance at lifting the Bob Willis Trophy in a final at Lords.

Last season, Surrey beat Sussex in the first ever final which proved a success for the four-day game after a delayed start to the season by covid enforced a competition restructure which became for the better following years of a two tiered structure.

Notts had five matches, drew three and lost two but improved on their 2019 campaign where they finished bottom of the County Championship Division One with ten straight losses.

In fact, the last competitive red ball win for Nottinghamshire came against Essex in June 2018 so Peter Moores’ men will be looking to quickly eradicate that unwanted statistic in the opening round of fixtures this year.

Jake Ball returns for Notts having been on duty with England whilst there’s plenty of home-grown talent in the squad, Ball along with bowlers Lyndon James, Brett Hutton, Luke Fletcher and Liam Patterson-White have all come through the sides Academy and have all made the fourteen man roster to face Durham this week.

The visitors will be captained by Scott Borthwick and have the likes of Chris Rushworth and Alex Lees in their side whilst bowler Paul Coughlin will be familiar to Trent Bridge having played for Nottinghamshire between 2018-19.

The first ball of the day will be bowled at 11am and you can watch it below with all four days of the match screened LIVE via Trent Bridge & YouTube on Nottingham Sport.

To watch all the days play on our website click here or click play below to see the opening days cricket streamed live.

Nottinghamshire won the toss and elected to field.

Nottingamshire XI: Haseeb Hameed, Ben Slater, Ben Duckett, Joe Clarke, Lyndon James, Steven Mullaney, Tom Moores, Liam Patterson-White, Brett Hutton, Luke Fletcher, Jake Ball.

Durham XI: Andy Lees, Michael Jones, Scott Borthwick, Jack Burnham, David Bedingham, Stuart Poynter, Brydon Carse, Ned Eckersley, Matt Salisbury, Ben Raine, Chris Rushworth.

*Video will upload at 11am.

*Main image @TrentBridge the venue looking as splendid as ever on match day.

Leave a Reply