Notts County

Founded: 1862

Venue: Meadow Lane (19,841)

Since: 1910

Head Coach: Neal Ardley

Since: 2018

Division: National League

Since: 2019


Twitter: @Official_NCFC

Famously known as the Oldest professional football club in the world, until recently Notts County were also the oldest surviving football league club of all until relegation to the National League in 2019.

After forming in 1862 the club became founder members of the Football League in 1888 and reached the FA Cup final in 1891 before winning the competition for the first and only time in 1894. Notts twice finished third in the early days of the football league’s First Division and were largely a top tier side during the first quarter of the 20th Century but after relegation to Division Two in 1926 they spent the next 55 years outside the top flight with relegation to the fourth tier in 1964 where they spent seven seasons until under the stewardship of Jimmy Sirrell they gained promotion winning the title in 1971. Two years later Sirrell lead Notts to Division Three promotion and in 1981 they finished second in the Second Division gaining promotion to the top flight of English football after long absence.

The Magpies spent three years in the top flight during the early 1980’s before successive relegation’s but in the early 1990’s they won back to promotions and enjoyed a single season in the Football League First Division in 1992 before relegation cost the team a place in what was the opening year of the Premier League. County would slowly fall from grace all be it winning the Anglo Italian Cup in 1995 but by 2004 the side would be relegated to the bottom tier of the football league for the first time since their Fourth Division title win of 1971.

After six years Notts won the league in 2009/10 to gain promotion to League One but after five seasons relegation saw the club rejoin League Two for four years before relegation to the National League.

2020/21 results and fixtures (men)

03.10.20 Dover Athletic (a) 0-1

07.10.20 Altrincham (h) 3-1

10.10.20 Barnet (h) 4-2

13.10.20 Sutton United (a) 1-0

17.10.20 Maidenhead United (h) 2-3

07.11.20 Aldershot Town (a) 0-1

17.11.20 Halifax Town (a) 1-1

21.11.20 Chesterfield (a) 3-2

28.11.20 Wealdstone (h) 3-0

02.12.20 Dagenham & Redbridge (a) 0-0

05.12.20 Woking (h) 1-0

08.12.20 Boreham Wood (h) 0-1

15.12.20 Stockport County (h) 1-0

19.12.20 Morpeth Town (a) 3-0 (FA Trophy Round Three)

28.12.20 Hartlepool United (h) 0-1

16.01.21 Stockport County (a) 2-1 (FA Trophy Round Four)

23.01.21 Torquay United (h) 0-0

27.01.21 Solihull Moors (h) 2-0

30.01.21 Weymouth (a) 1-0

06.02.21 Havant & Waterlooville (a) 2-2 *4-2 on pens (FA Trophy Round Five)

09.02.21 Dagenham & Redbridge (h) 3-1

16.02.21 Kings Lynn Town (a) 1-0

20.02.21 Chesterfield (h) 0-1

23.02.21 Stockport County (a) 0-0

27.02.21 Oxford City (h) 3-1 (FA Trophy Quarter Final)

02.03.21 Kings Lynn Town (h) 2-2

06.03.21 Aldershot Town (h) 15:00

09.03.21 Halifax Town (h) 19:45

13.03.21 Macclesfield Town (a) 15:00

16.03.21 Boreham Wood (a) 19:45

20.03.21 Yeovil Town (h) 15:00

27.03.21 Hornchurch (h) 15:00 (FA Trophy Semi Final)

02.04.21 Wrexham (h) 15:00

05.04.21 Woking (a) 15:00

10.04.21 Hartlepool United (a) 15:00

13.04.21 Solihull Moors (a) 19:45

17.04.21 Eastleigh (h) 15:00

24.04.21 Torquay United (a) 15:00

01.05.21 Altrincham (a) 15:00

03.05.21 Sutton United (h) 15:00

08.05.21 Barnet (a) 15:00

15.05.21 Dover Athletic (h) 15:00

22.05.21 Weymouth (h) 15:00

29.05.21 Bromley (a) 15:00

*National League unless stated (in brackets)

2020/21 full squad (men)

Sam Slocombe, Jake Kean, Tiernan Brooks, Luke Pilling, Sam Graham, Damien McCrory, Ben Turner, Connell Rawlinson, Dion Kelly-Evans, Richard Brindley, Alex Lacey, Adam Chicksen, Jim O’Brien, Micheal Doyle, Jake Reeves, Wes Thomas, Enzio Boldewijn, Kyle Wootton, Ruben Rodrigues, Cal Roberts, Elisha Sam, Jimmy Knowles.

2020/21 results and fixtures (women)

27.09.20 Ilkeston Town Ladies (a) 3-0

04.10.20 Loughborough Foxes Vixens (h) 8-0

18.10.20 Derby County Women Academy (h) 2-2

03.01.21 Loughborough Foxes Vixens (a) P-P

17.01.21 Oadby & Wigston Women (h) P-P

24.01.21 Thrapston Town Ladies (a) P-P

31.01.21 AFC Leicester Ladies (h) P-P

07.02.21 Beaumont Park Ladies (a) P-P

14.02.21 Coalville Town Ravenettes (h) P-P

21.02.21 Coalville Town Ravenettes (a) P-P

28.02.21 Beaumont Park Ladies (h) P-P

07.03.21 AFC Leicester Ladies (a) P-P

*East Midlands Women’s Division One South unless stated (in brackets)

2020/21 full squad (women)

Sam Brooks, Nya Chambers, Bethany Curzon, Jessica Drage, Holly Fowler, Sabine Foyster, Lashea Francis, Chelsie Hooley, Hannah Kiddle, Jessica Knott, Isobel Lee, Rebecca Linsey, Bethany Mullxhi, Jessica Munn, Emily North, Bella Reed, Charlotte Taylor.