Bygones – Nottingham Sport Awards

In 2020 we launched our very first Nottingham Sport Awards to give recognition to those who achieved great success for our famous old county over each and every twelve month period with five main titles to celebrate the best team, the best male, female, youngster and writer. Based on Nottinghamshire Folklore we named the award for best male contribution to sport in Notts as the Robin Hood Award whilst the top female received the title as our Maid Marian Woman of the Year. To celebrate team success we award the best side of the previous 12 months with the Merry Men Team of the Year whilst our young athlete nominated as best under the age of 23 gets the title of Little John Young Star. Finally, our much coveted award for our own magnificent Nottingham Sport journalists and the best of the year in that category, is announced as the prized Friar Tuck Writer of the Year.

Robin Hood Man of the Year

2020: Stuart Broad
2021: Leigh Wood
2022: Steve Cooper

Maid Marian Woman of the Year

2020: Jasmine Joyner
2021: Emily Campbell
2022: Mary Earps

Little John Young Star of the Year

2020: Victor Olarerin
2021: Jack Whitaker
2022: Brennan Johnson

Friar Tuck Writer of the Year

2020: Steve Corry
2021: Peter Mann
2022: K-Ci Rennicks

Merry Men Team of the Year

2020: Notts Outlaws
2021: Nottingham Panthers
2022: Nottingham Forest

Back to Bygones