Bygones – Notts Football Team Photos 1850-1899

Our photographic bygones pages have proved most popular with people digging out their memories from dusty old albums and from across the web to share with us at Nottingham Sport. When we started our teams photo’s pages we expected a few old and blurry with a larger number of more modern images full of colour. This has not been the case however with amateur archivists, enthusiasts and club committee members all chipping in to help us forge a collection of Nottinghamshire football teams that is the best on the internet. If you would like to contribute then please send in your images to and if possible let us know a detail or two about the photo you’ve sent in, however little it may seem.

Nottingham Forest (1868)

Notts County (1873)

Notts County (1880)

Notts Olympic (1883)

Back row: R. Hammond, T. Orton, A.G. Hines, F. Tinley, H. Hayes, Mr O’Hara, W. Harrison. Front row: J. Bailey, H. Adcock, J. Bamford, E. West, W. Heath, G. Unwin.

Keyworth Football Club (1884/85)

Burton Joyce (1893)

Notts County (1894)

Back row: Charlie Bramley, Fay Harper, David Calerhead, George Toone, Jack Hendry, Alf Shelton, J. Goode (Trainer). Front row: Arthur Watson, Sam Donnelly, James Logan, Dan Bruce, Harry Daft.

Nottingham Forest (1898)

Notts Magdala (1898-99)

Back to Bygones