Mansfield Town

Founded: 1897

Venue: Field Mill (9,186)

Since: 1919

Men’s Head Coach: Nigel Clough

Since: 2020

Division: Football League Two

Since: 2013

Women’s Head Coach: Andi Bell

Since: 2020

Division: East Midlands Women’s Regional Football League Premier Division

Since: 2015


Twitter: @mansfieldtownfc

Formed originally as a church team, Mansfield Wesleyans played in the Mansfield & District Amateur Leagues until 1906 when they turned professional and changed their name to Mansfield Wesley before joining the Notts & District League.

In 1910 the club finally changed its name to Mansfield Town Football Club before moving to the Notts & Derbyshire League and into their current home at Field Mill in 1919, winning the Central Alliance title in the same year.

Following some successful years in the Midland League (winning it three times), during the 1920’s Mansfield were elected into Division Three South of the Football League in 1931 and spent 27 years bouncing between the North & South divisions before re-structuring to a four tier league saw them relegated from Division Three to Four in 1960. After promotion back to the Third Division in 1963 the club reached the Quarter Finals of the FA Cup in 1969 and were relegated in 1972 but after winning Division Four in 1975 and Division Three just two years later the club had a single season in the second tier of English football for the first and only time in 1977/78.

The Stags since spent 30 years in the bottom two divisions of the Football League but famously won the Associate Members Cup in 1987 at Wembley which is still to this day fondly remembered across the county. After relegation from the football league in 2008 the club spent 5 years in the Conference before returning to the Football League’s fourth tier in 2013.

For latest Mansfield Town results & fixtures visit the clubs official website here