Nottingham Forest

Founded: 1865

Venue: City Ground (30,445)

Since: 1898

Men’s Head Coach: Nuno Espirito Santo

Since: 2023

Division: Premier League

Since: 2022

Women’s Head Coach: Carly Davies

Since: 2023

Division: FA Women’s National League North

Since: 2012


Twitter: @NFFC

One of the oldest professional teams in England, Nottingham Forest Football Club were formed in 1865 by a then group of shinney players and are named after the Racecourse which they first played their football on, now the famous site of the cities Goose Fair.

By the turn of the 20th Century, Forest had moved in to the City Ground on the banks of the Trent and won the FA Cup (both occurring in 1898) and were largely at the forefront of the football league after becoming elected in 1892 having won the Football Alliance the previous year.

After many years in the top two divisions of English professional football during the first half of the century, Forest suffered relegation to the Third Division South in 1949 but within ten years were not only back in the top flight, they had also won the FA Cup Final for the second time in the clubs history (1959). In 1967 the club finished a then highest runners up spot in the First Division before relegation in 1973 but two years later the clubs dynamics would take a miraculous turn around as Brian Clough and Peter Taylor within five years secured promotion (in 1976/77), the English Championship (1977/78), two European Cups (1979 & 1980) and two League Cups (1978 & 79) in what was a golden era for the football club.

Clough finally left his legacy in charge of the club having won further silverware before retirement as Forest were relegated from the newly formed Premier League in 1993. Since then Forest had bounced between the top two divisions during the 1990’s before dropping down into the countries third tier in 2005. From 2008 until 2022, Forest played in the Championship, the second tier of English football before promotion via the Playoffs ended a 23 year spell away from the top tier and the Premier League.

The clubs women’s side were formed in 1990 and are currently in the FA Women’s National League. Honours include the FA Women’s Premier League North title in 2007/08 and more recently, the FA Women’s National League Plate which they won in 2022.

For latest Nottingham Forest results & fixtures visit the clubs official website here