Nottingham Rugby

Founded: 1877

Venue: Lady Bay (3,500)

Since: 2015

Head Coach: Craig Hammond

Since: 2021

Division: RFU Championship

Since: 2004


Twitter: @NottinghamRugby

It was Alexander Birkin who established Nottingham Rugby Football Club in 1877 after returning from Rugby School where he was first introduced to the sport. Known affectionately as ‘the green and whites’ since 1886 the club with the aid of the Birkin family purchased premises in Beeston (later known as Ireland Avenue) where they would play from 1904 and first winning the Midland Counties Senior Cup (a trophy that was previously won eight times on the bounce by Leicester Tigers) in 1906.

The club became the first to play a match with a white ball as they hosted Bradford at Ireland Avenue in 1951 and Nottingham were the first club in England to appoint an official rugby coach Dai Roberts in 1966.

Until 1972 Rugby Union in England was largely played on a friendly non competitive basis but that changed when the RFU Club Competition with Nottingham reaching the second round beating Leicester before losing to Coventry in its debut year.

In 1987 The Courage League was formed and Nottingham were founder members enjoying some memorable years in the top division with some of the countries finest England Internationals turning out regularly at Ireland Avenue. After professionalism in 1996 Nottingham turned on hard times and lost top tier status rejoining the National League One in 2004 before leaving Ireland Avenue in 2006.

The club have since played at Notts County’s Meadow Lane before moving to Lady Bay in 2017 and have regularly since been competitive in the top half of the countries second tier Rugby Union league the Championship.

2021/22 fixtures & results

18.09.21 Ampthill (h) 36-26

25.09.21 Richmond (a) 24-27

02.10.21 Hartpury (h) 22-20

09.10.21 Ealing Trailfinders (a) 19-78

23.10.21 Cornish Pirates (h) 8-32

06.11.21 Coventry (a) 12-35

19.11.21 London Scottish (h) 41-31

27.11.21 Bedford Blues (a) 9-40

11.12.21 Doncaster Knights (a) 12-45

18.12.21 Ampthill (a) 15-20

01.01.22 Hartpury (a) 26-30

15.01.22 Ealing Trailfinders (h) 21-34

22.01.22 Cornish Pirates (a) 17-52

04.02.22 Jersey Reds (h) 31-41

11.02.22 Coventry (h) 27-15

19.02.22 London Scottish (a) 36-24

27.02.22 Bedford Blues (h) 22-47

04.03.22 Richmond (h) 12-19

12.03.22 Jersey Reds (a) 12-48

19.03.22 Doncaster Knights (h) 5-26

08.04.22 Bedford Blues (h) 18-38 (Championship Cup Round One 1st leg)

23.04.22 Bedford Blues (a) 19-52 (Championship Cup Round One 2nd leg)

*RFU Championship unless stated (in brackets)

2021/22 full squad

Alex Crocker, Aniseko Sio, Callum Allen, Carl Kirwan, Charlie Thacker, Curtis Wilson, David Williams, Emeka Ilione, George Cox, Harry Graham, Jack Ramshaw, Jack Stapley, Jacob Wrafter, Jacob Wright, Jake Farnworth, Joe Browning, Jordan Coghlan, Josh Buggea, Josh Poullet, Liam Bishop, Luke Cole, Matt Riddington, Michael Stronge, Osman Dimen, Ronne Du-Randt, Sam Hollingsworth, Scott Hall, Theo Manihera, Toby Williams, Will Millett.