FA Pyramid Scheme Set Out

The proposed tables for the 2020/21 campaign have been set out by the FA as all league formats below step three of the football pyramid have been finalised ahead of the grassroots games restart in September.

No change in the Northern Premier League which means Basford United will go again with their bid for promotion to the National League North after finishing fourth last season at the time of lockdown. League leaders South Shields were twelve points ahead of their nearest rivals FC United of Manchester who were second at the time of the campaigns premature closure but they’ll need to recharge their batteries and pick themselves up from huge disappointment of the earlier than expected season finish which meant no promotion for them.

At the Step Four Northern Premier League South East Division which involves two Nottinghamshire clubs both Carlton Town and Worksop Town will again feature in a league that has seen no changes in personnel on last season’s make-up.

At Step 5, newly named Newark FC (after dropping Flowserve from their name) will hope to again be one of the forerunners for promotion whilst Selston, who after a nightmare with postponements last season, will be hoping to improve on their bottom of the table position with a second chance for survival.

Also at Step 5 AFC Mansfield will again feature in the Northern Counties East League Premier Division with no changes to the twenty teams that featured in the league last year.

There are slight changes at Step 6 with Ollerton Town moving from the Northern Counties East League First Division to the East Midland Counties League. Nottinghamshire’s only representatives in the NCEL second tier will be Retford FC who were sixth at the time the season was cut short in March. The North Notts outfit will be hopeful of a promotion push this time around.

Ollerton’s move to the EMCL means the division has twenty teams up from nineteen last season. The 13 Nottinghamshire clubs involved along with Ollerton will be Clifton All Whites, Clipstone, Dunkirk, Eastwood Community, Gedling Miners Welfare, Hucknall Town, Kimberley Miners Welfare, Radford, Rainworth Miners Welfare, Sherwood Colliery, Teversal and West Bridgford.

*Main image @Ollertontownfc the North Notts outfit will be in the EMCL next season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *