Bygones – East Midlands Counties League Titles

The East Midlands Counties League is step 10 on the football pyramid and offers an avenue from the Nottinghamshire Senior League as well as top tier divisions in both Derbyshire and Leicestershire with promotion into the Northern Counties East League or Midland Football League for local clubs. The league founded in 2008 is just one division often fiercely contested with some of the best established local teams within the East Midlands. Our basic statistics show records for league and cup winners but if you can help with more please get in touch by emailing and letting us know how just what you have.

East Midlands Counties League Premier Division (winners)

2008-09 Kirby Muxloe
2009-10 Dunkirk
2010-11 Gresley
2011-12 Heanor Town
2012-13 Basford United
2013-14 Thurnby Nirvana
2014-15 Bardon Hill
2015-16 St Andrews
2016-17 West Bridgford
2017-18 Dunkirk
2018-19 Selston
2019-20 No competition due to Covid-19
2020-21 No competition due to Covid-19

Wins by number: 2 Dunkirk, 1 Bardon Hill (Leicestershire), 1 Basford United, 1 Gresley (Derbyshire), 1 Heanor Town (Derbyshire), 1 Kirkby Muxloe (Leicestershire), 1 Selston, 1 St Andrews (Leicestershire), 1 Thurnby Nirvana (Leicestershire), 1 West Bridgford.

East Midlands Counties League Cup Finals

2008-09 Borrowash Victoria 1-0 Holbrook Miners Welfare (Holwell Sports)
2009-10 Gedling Town 2-1 Dunkirk *aet (Borrowash Victoria)
2010-11 Thurnby Nirvana 4-2 Holbrook Sports (Moat Ground, Gresley)
2011-12 Borrowash Victoria 1-0 Radcliffe Olympic 0 (Riverside Ground, Barrow)
2012-13 Basford United 2-0 Graham Street Prims (Borrowash Victoria)
2013-14 Graham Street Prims 4-2 Sutton Town (Bardon Hill)
2014-15 South Normanton Athletic 1-1 Radcliffe Olympic *pens (Gedling Miners Welfare)
2015-16 Aylestone Park 2-1 South Normanton Athletic (Riverside Ground, Barrow)
2016-17 Dunkirk 2-1 Ashby Ivanhoe (Anstey Nomads)
2017-18 Radford 6-0 Anstey Nomads (Coronation Park Eastwood)
2018-19 Newark Flowserve 0-0 Clifton *pens (Clipstone Welfare)
2019-20 No competition due to Covid-19
2020-21 No competition due to Covid-19

Wins by number: 2 Borrowash Victoria (Derbyshire), 1 Aylestone Park (Leicestershire), 1 Basford United, 1 Dunkirk, 1 Gedling Town, 1 Graham Street Prims (Derbyshire), 1 Newark Flowserve, 1 Radford, 1 South Normanton Athletic (Derbyshire), 1 Thurnby Nirvana (Leicestershire).

Click here to view a list of previous Central Midlands League winners.

Back to Bygones