Cricket Awards For Premier League Stars

The Owzat-Cricket Notts Premier League award winners have been announced for 2019 with individual gongs for Cavaliers & Carrington batsmen Shiv Thakor who scored 933 runs at an average of 66.64 as his side fell just short of Kimberley Institute in winning the Premier League title.

The bowling award for the season went to Jim Rhodes of Papplewick & Linby who took 38 wickets at an ave of 14.68 whilst team mate Harry Ratcliffe scooped the best wicket-keeper award for 25 catches and 10 season stumpings.

The leagues all-rounder award went to Wollaton’s Nayyar Abbas scoring 696 runs averaging 40.94 and taking 44 wickets at an ave of 16.20 with Nayyar’s Wollaton team-mate Zain Latif winning the young player of the season award scoring 38 runs at 12.67 but more importantly taking 44 wickets at an impressive 15.50.

Five clubs will represent the county in the ECB National Knock Out Cup in the summer of 2020 with champions 2019 Kimberley Institute and runners-up Cavaliers & Carrington joined by Twenty20 Cup winners Cuckney along with Caythorpe and Papplewick & Linby.

Finally Clifton Village and Mansfield Hosiery Mills will participate in the Owzat Nottinghamshire Premier League next season. Mansfield gained promotion through winning the Bassetlaw District Cricket League whilst Clifton won the South Notts Cricket League to return to the NPL after a three year absence.

Both Mansfield and Clifton take the place of Gedling Colliery and Farnsfield who were relegated.

2019 Award Winners

Best Batsman: Shivsinh Thakor (Cavaliers & Carrington)

Best Bowler: Jim Rhodes (Papplewick & Linby)

Best All Rounder: Nayyar Abbas (Wollaton)

Best Wicket Keeper: Harry Ratcliffe (Papplewick & Linby)

Young Player of the Year: Zain Latif (Wollaton)

*Main image @DerbyshireCCC former Derbys batsman Shiv Thakor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *